Au7o mascotAu7o
Known IssuesTest Hub demo
  1. Au7o
  2. /
  3. Known Issues
  4. /
  5. Rivian
  6. /
  7. R2
Rivian · Known Issues

2026-2027 Rivian R2 Problems: 2 Known Issues

2026-2027 model years · NHTSA recalls, manufacturer TSBs, and owner forum reports · Updated June 2026

Share:@au7o.io

All years · All trims · All engines

Choose the year and equipment for your written issues and visual request.

No email neededHow interest is saved

Interest applies to the selected vehicle and configuration; it is not a reservation. Voting stores a first-party identifier for up to 180 days to prevent repeat votes. No account or email is needed. Clearing cookies or using another device may count separately. Privacy

Choose your vehicle configuration

Choose a year to request this visual. Trim and engine are optional; omitted trim is Not specified.

Which vehicle’s visual would you like?

Choose from our year, make, model and trim catalog. This does not change the page underneath or mean a visual is already available.

Choose a vehicle configuration to continue. No request has been submitted.

Visual coming soon

Your interest helps us choose what to build next.

Visual Known Issues · Coming soon

$4.99/month plus taxes at launch · No payment today

Choose a year to request this visual. Trim and engine are optional; omitted trim is Not specified.

Optional email notification

Choose a year to request this visual. Trim and engine are optional; omitted trim is Not specified.

Which vehicle’s visual would you like?

Choose from our year, make, model and trim catalog. This does not change the page underneath or mean a visual is already available.

Choose a vehicle configuration to continue. No request has been submitted.

Preview the XT6 example
Issue summary
Known IssuesMotorcycle IssuesDTC LookupDrivePricingAboutTermsPrivacyCookiesConsentData rightsCopyrightFeedback
Share:@au7o.io

Vehicle data and repair guidance on this site are compiled with AI assistance and may contain errors. Always verify with your service manual or a qualified mechanic.

Data protection representation

DataRep representative in the United KingdomDataRep representative in the European Union
Au7o · 2026
Built for DIY mechanics. Privacy-first.
Explore free Hub demo

According to Au7o's research across NHTSA recalls, manufacturer TSBs, and owner forum reports, the 2026-2027 Rivian R2 has 2 documented known issues, with 1 rated critical. The most serious is Electronic door handles — rear-seat manual emergency release is hidden behind trim ($0-$0 repair). DIY maintenance guides at au7o.io.

In This Article

  • R2 Interior1
  • R2 Electrical1
  • Recalls1
  • FAQ
Get Started
Back to top

In This Article

  • Interior1
  • Electrical1
  • Recalls1
  • FAQ

All 2 Known Issues

Filter:
ALL YEARS20272026

The R2 carries over Rivian's e-latch door system: no mechanical linkage between the interior handle/button and the latch. Rivian moved the rear-door manual release forward into the grab-handle area (an improvement over the R1's door-panel location), but the cable is still hidden behind a small plastic cover that must be popped out to access — criticized by safety reviewers (Carscoops, autoevolution, InsideEVs, TechCrunch) as non-intuitive in a power-loss or fire emergency, especially for rear-seat children. The R2's electromechanical latch system does automatically unlock doors when a crash is detected, with fully redundant HV/12V power, per Rivian design chief Jeff Hammoud.

Common Symptoms

  • Rear-seat occupants cannot intuitively find manual door release
  • Plastic trim must be popped/removed to reach release cable
  • Risk of entrapment after 12V power loss or fire if occupants are unfamiliar with location
  • Children may be unable to operate manual rear release

How to Fix

Owners must demonstrate the hidden rear manual release to every passenger before driving — show how to pop the trim piece and pull the cable. Keep a window-breaker tool in the cabin. No Rivian-issued recall or service fix as of June 2026.

Typical repair cost:$0 - $0

Research This Issue

GoogleRedditYouTubeNHTSA
Community Reported
High ConfidenceVerifiedReviewed Jun 2026

Rivian chose a 400-volt electrical architecture (353.3V nominal: 8 strings of 96 LG 4695 cells) for the R2, vs 800V used by Hyundai Ioniq 5, Kia EV6, Porsche Macan EV, BMW iX3, Volvo EX60. EPA filings list a peak DC rate of 217 kW, but independent carwow testing on Rivian Adventure Network measured a real-world peak of 181-190 kW that dropped to ~150 kW by 50% SOC and ~53 kW by 83% SOC. Rivian advertises 10-80% in 29 min on the 87.9 kWh usable (94 kWh gross) NMCA pack. Owners road-tripping behind 800V vehicles will spend roughly 10 extra minutes per stop. CEO Scaringe defended the trade-off citing R1 fleet data of ~10 DC sessions/year/owner, prioritizing range and cost per kWh over peak fast-charge speed.

Common Symptoms

  • Peak DC fast-charge rate ~190 kW, not class-leading
  • Aggressive taper above 50% SOC during long trips
  • 10-80% time ~29 min vs ~20 min on 800V rivals
  • Slower road-trip cadence vs Ioniq 5 / Macan EV

How to Fix

Charge at home on Level 2 whenever possible (Rivian designed around this). On road trips, stop at ~20% and unplug at 60-70% to stay in the high-power part of the curve rather than waiting through the taper. Use Rivian Adventure Network for best curve adherence.

Typical repair cost:$0 - $0

Research This Issue

GoogleRedditYouTubeNHTSA
Community Reported
Medium ConfidenceVerifiedReviewed Jun 2026
NHTSA Recalls1 recall

BACK OVER PREVENTION:SOFTWARE

Rivian Automotive, LLC (Rivian) is recalling certain 2022-2027 R1S, 2022-2026 R1T, and 2027 R2 vehicles. The rearview camera image may be obstructed by a notification when in reverse. As such, these vehicles fail to comply with the requirements of Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard (FMVSS) number 111, "Rear Visibility."

Campaign #26V59700016/09/2026

Enter your VIN at NHTSA.gov to check recalls specific to your vehicle.

🔧
A mechanic who knows YOUR exact car
Answers tuned to your year, make, model & trim — not generic advice. Save your garage so it always has the right context.
Get ahead of Rivian R2 problems — free
Leave your email and we'll alert you the moment there's a new recall or known issue for your Rivian R2. Free, no account needed.

Don't see your problem? Describe your symptoms to get a diagnosis, or get a full repair guide.

Other Rivian Models

Rivian R1T19Rivian EDV3Rivian R1S1

Frequently Asked Questions

What are the most common Rivian R2 problems?

According to Au7o's research across NHTSA recalls, manufacturer TSBs, and owner forum reports, the 2026-2027 Rivian R2 has 2 documented issues. The most frequently reported are: Electronic door handles — rear-seat manual emergency release is hidden behind trim, 400V architecture limits DC fast-charging speed vs 800V competitors. Of these, 1 is rated critical and should be addressed promptly.

Is the Rivian R2 reliable?

The 2026-2027 Rivian R2 has 2 known issues compiled from NHTSA recalls, manufacturer TSBs, and owner forum reports. 1 issue is rated critical: Electronic door handles — rear-seat manual emergency release is hidden behind trim. Prospective buyers should inspect for these issues and factor potential repair costs into their purchase decision. Regular maintenance following the manufacturer's schedule helps prevent many common problems.

How much does it cost to fix common Rivian R2 problems?

Repair costs for known Rivian R2 issues range from $0 to $0, depending on the specific problem and whether you choose DIY or professional repair. The most critical issue, Electronic door handles — rear-seat manual emergency release is hidden behind trim, typically costs $0-$0 to repair. Au7o provides step-by-step DIY maintenance guides that can help reduce repair costs.

What is the 2026 Rivian R2 Electronic door handles — rear-seat manual emergency release is hidden behind trim?

The R2 carries over Rivian's e-latch door system: no mechanical linkage between the interior handle/button and the latch. Rivian moved the rear-door manual release forward into the grab-handle area (an improvement over the R1's door-panel location), but the cable is still hidden… Repairs typically run $0-$0. Severity: high.

What is the 2026-2027 Rivian R2 400V architecture limits DC fast-charging speed vs 800V competitors?

Rivian chose a 400-volt electrical architecture (353.3V nominal: 8 strings of 96 LG 4695 cells) for the R2, vs 800V used by Hyundai Ioniq 5, Kia EV6, Porsche Macan EV, BMW iX3, Volvo EX60. EPA filings list a peak DC rate of 217 kW, but independent carwow testing on Rivian Adventu… Repairs typically run $0-$0. Severity: medium.

Content on this page was compiled with AI assistance using NHTSA complaints, TSBs, owner reports, and public automotive data. While we strive for accuracy, this information may contain errors. Always verify repair procedures and specifications with your vehicle's service manual or a qualified mechanic.

Data compiled from NHTSA recalls, manufacturer TSBs, automotive forums, and AI-assisted research. No aggregated owner-report counts available for this vehicle yet.