Au7o mascotAu7o
Known IssuesTest Hub demo
  1. Au7o
  2. /
  3. Known Issues
  4. /
  5. Tesla
  6. /
  7. Semi
Tesla · Known Issues

2023-2026 Tesla Semi Problems: 5 Known Issues

2023-2026 model years · NHTSA recalls, manufacturer TSBs, and owner forum reports · Updated June 2026

Share:@au7o.io

All years · All trims · All engines

Choose the year and equipment for your written issues and visual request.

No email neededHow interest is saved

Interest applies to the selected vehicle and configuration; it is not a reservation. Voting stores a first-party identifier for up to 180 days to prevent repeat votes. No account or email is needed. Clearing cookies or using another device may count separately. Privacy

Choose your vehicle configuration

Choose a year to request this visual. Trim and engine are optional; omitted trim is Not specified.

Which vehicle’s visual would you like?

Choose from our year, make, model and trim catalog. This does not change the page underneath or mean a visual is already available.

Choose a vehicle configuration to continue. No request has been submitted.

Visual coming soon

Your interest helps us choose what to build next.

Visual Known Issues · Coming soon

$4.99/month plus taxes at launch · No payment today

Choose a year to request this visual. Trim and engine are optional; omitted trim is Not specified.

Optional email notification

Choose a year to request this visual. Trim and engine are optional; omitted trim is Not specified.

Which vehicle’s visual would you like?

Choose from our year, make, model and trim catalog. This does not change the page underneath or mean a visual is already available.

Choose a vehicle configuration to continue. No request has been submitted.

Preview the XT6 example
Known IssuesMotorcycle IssuesDTC LookupDrivePricingAboutTermsPrivacyCookiesConsentData rightsCopyrightFeedback
Share:@au7o.io

Vehicle data and repair guidance on this site are compiled with AI assistance and may contain errors. Always verify with your service manual or a qualified mechanic.

Data protection representation

DataRep representative in the United KingdomDataRep representative in the European Union
Au7o · 2026
Built for DIY mechanics. Privacy-first.
Explore free Hub demo
Issue summary

According to Au7o's research across NHTSA recalls, manufacturer TSBs, and owner forum reports, the 2023-2026 Tesla Semi has 5 documented known issues, with 4 rated critical. The most serious are Touchscreen flicker / shutdown forcing drivers to pull over ($0-$500 repair), Megacharger network gaps strand trucks off-corridor ($250,000-$1,500,000 repair), Parking brake valve module fails to engage — rollaway risk (NHTSA Recall 23V-205) ($0-$0 repair) and Lithium-ion battery thermal runaway after crash — 50,000 gallons of water needed ($250,000-$500,000 repair). Across all issues with published estimates, repair costs range from $250,000 to $1,500,000. DIY maintenance guides at au7o.io.

In This Article

  • Semi Electrical2
  • Semi Other1
  • Semi Brakes1
  • Semi Drivetrain1
  • FAQ
Get Started
Back to top

In This Article

  • Electrical2
  • Other1
  • Brakes1
  • Drivetrain1
  • FAQ

All 5 Known Issues

Filter:
ALL YEARS2026202520242023

Consider removing the 'I-80' reference unless a specific source documents I-80 incidents — verified reporting centers on Modesto, CA (Frito-Lay facility) with units towed to Lathrop, CA. Both are in California's Central Valley, not on I-80.

How to Fix

Keep the truck on the latest Tesla OTA firmware and report any flicker/blackout event to the Tesla Semi Service Program (Lathrop, CA) immediately. Tesla addresses these via software patch; mobile service can also reseat the display harness if the issue persists after an update.

Typical repair cost:$0 - $500

Research This Issue

GoogleRedditYouTubeNHTSA
Community Reported
High ConfidenceVerifiedReviewed Jun 2026

On Aug 19, 2024 a 2024 Tesla Semi driven by a Tesla employee left I-80 near Emigrant Gap, CA, struck a tree, and the ~900 kWh pack went into thermal runaway. Battery temperatures hit ~1,000 F, fire/toxic smoke closed both directions of I-80 for 14-15 hours, and CAL FIRE used roughly 50,000 gallons (189,000 L) of water to cool the pack. NTSB opened HWY24FH015 — its first EV truck case.

How to Fix

Train fleet drivers and first responders on Tesla Semi-specific emergency response (download Tesla's Semi ERG). Post-collision, do not attempt to move the unit — isolate, monitor pack temperature 24-48 hrs for reignition, and follow NTSB/NFPA Li-ion truck fire protocol.

Typical repair cost:$250,000 - $500,000

Research This Issue

GoogleRedditYouTubeNHTSA
Community Reported
High ConfidenceVerifiedReviewed Jun 2026

The Semi is designed around 750 kW - 1.2 MW charging, but as of mid-2026 only a handful of public Megachargers exist (Ontario, CA opened Mar 2026; Tesla targeting 37 sites by EOY 2026, 46 by early 2027). Fleets running outside the I-5/I-10/I-75/I-95 corridors must build private depot chargers (~$1M+ per site) or accept that the truck is operationally tethered to its home base — not a long-haul OTR tractor in practice.

How to Fix

Before ordering Semis, map every lane against Tesla's published Megacharger rollout and budget for an on-site DC fast charger (Tesla 750 kW Megacharger pedestal, ABB / Kempower MCS, or interim CCS1) plus the utility service upgrade — frequently the longest-lead item.

Typical repair cost:$250,000 - $1,500,000

Research This Issue

GoogleRedditYouTubeNHTSA
Community Reported
High ConfidenceVerifiedReviewed Jun 2026

On 35 early-build 2023 Tesla Semi tractors, the Bendix-supplied electronic parking brake valve module (PVM) may fail to transition to the park position when the driver presses the parking brake button, due to excessive internal air leakage in the supplier's spec. If the service brake is released, the truck can roll away. No crashes reported, but a clear safety defect on a Class 8 unit.

How to Fix

Free recall fix: Tesla Service replaces Bendix Intellipark Towing Park Brake Module (PVM) part 1124642-00-A with revised part 1124642-00-B that has improved internals preventing air leakage. Affects 35 units produced Nov 30 2022 – Feb 28 2023. Verify Recall 23V-205 / Tesla SB-23-33-001 is closed on the VIN before putting the unit in service.

Typical repair cost:$0 - $0

Research This Issue

GoogleRedditYouTubeNHTSA
Community Reported
High ConfidenceVerifiedReviewed Jun 2026

Tesla advertises 500 miles at 82,000 lb GCW, but real fleet deployment tells a different story. PepsiCo runs Frito-Lay (chips, ~light) Semis on ~425-mile routes, but limits Pepsi soda runs (heavy liquid loads) to ~100 miles before recharging. NACFE 'Run on Less' (Sept 2023) recorded one Semi needing a mid-day charge after 377 mi on a 545-mi day. Energy use averaged ~1.7 kWh/mi in DHL's October 2024 trial at 75,000 lb GCW.

How to Fix

Route-plan around real-world ~1.7-2.0 kWh/mi consumption for heavy/dense freight, not the 500-mi marketing figure. Reserve Semis for sub-300-mi lanes that terminate at a Megacharger, and budget a mid-route 30-min charge for any run over ~350 mi at GCW.

Typical repair cost:$0 - $0

Research This Issue

GoogleRedditYouTubeNHTSA
Community Reported
High ConfidenceVerifiedReviewed Jun 2026
🔧
A mechanic who knows YOUR exact car
Answers tuned to your year, make, model & trim — not generic advice. Save your garage so it always has the right context.
Get ahead of Tesla Semi problems — free
Leave your email and we'll alert you the moment there's a new recall or known issue for your Tesla Semi. Free, no account needed.

Don't see your problem? Describe your symptoms to get a diagnosis, or get a full repair guide.

Other Tesla Models

Tesla Model Y21Tesla Model S16Tesla Model 315Tesla Model X12Tesla Cybertruck9

Frequently Asked Questions

What are the most common Tesla Semi problems?

According to Au7o's research across NHTSA recalls, manufacturer TSBs, and owner forum reports, the 2023-2026 Tesla Semi has 5 documented issues. The most frequently reported are: Touchscreen flicker / shutdown forcing drivers to pull over, Megacharger network gaps strand trucks off-corridor, Parking brake valve module fails to engage — rollaway risk (NHTSA Recall 23V-205). Of these, 4 are rated critical and should be addressed promptly.

Is the Tesla Semi reliable?

The 2023-2026 Tesla Semi has 5 known issues compiled from NHTSA recalls, manufacturer TSBs, and owner forum reports. 4 issues are rated critical: Touchscreen flicker / shutdown forcing drivers to pull over and Megacharger network gaps strand trucks off-corridor and Parking brake valve module fails to engage — rollaway risk (NHTSA Recall 23V-205) and Lithium-ion battery thermal runaway after crash — 50,000 gallons of water needed. Prospective buyers should inspect for these issues and factor potential repair costs into their purchase decision. Regular maintenance following the manufacturer's schedule helps prevent many common problems.

How much does it cost to fix common Tesla Semi problems?

Repair costs for known Tesla Semi issues range from $0 to $1,500,000, depending on the specific problem and whether you choose DIY or professional repair. The most critical issue, Touchscreen flicker / shutdown forcing drivers to pull over, typically costs $0-$500 to repair. Au7o provides step-by-step DIY maintenance guides that can help reduce repair costs.

What year Tesla Semi is the most reliable?

Reliability varies across model years of the Tesla Semi. Based on documented issues, problems are most commonly reported in earlier model years. Au7o recommends checking the specific known issues for your target year before purchasing, and having a pre-purchase inspection performed by a qualified mechanic. Our known issues database covers the 2023-2026 Tesla Semi with 5 documented issues compiled from NHTSA recalls, manufacturer TSBs, and owner forum reports.

What is the 2023 Tesla Semi Touchscreen flicker / shutdown forcing drivers to pull over?

Content on this page was compiled with AI assistance using NHTSA complaints, TSBs, owner reports, and public automotive data. While we strive for accuracy, this information may contain errors. Always verify repair procedures and specifications with your vehicle's service manual or a qualified mechanic.

Data compiled from NHTSA recalls, manufacturer TSBs, automotive forums, and AI-assisted research. No aggregated owner-report counts available for this vehicle yet.

Consider removing the 'I-80' reference unless a specific source documents I-80 incidents — verified reporting centers on Modesto, CA (Frito-Lay facility) with units towed to Lathrop, CA. Both are in California's Central Valley, not on I-80. Repairs typically run $0-$500. Severity: high.

What is the 2024-2026 Tesla Semi Megacharger network gaps strand trucks off-corridor?

The Semi is designed around 750 kW - 1.2 MW charging, but as of mid-2026 only a handful of public Megachargers exist (Ontario, CA opened Mar 2026; Tesla targeting 37 sites by EOY 2026, 46 by early 2027). Fleets running outside the I-5/I-10/I-75/I-95 corridors must build private d… Repairs typically run $250,000-$1,500,000. Severity: high.

What is the 2023 Tesla Semi Parking brake valve module fails to engage — rollaway risk (NHTSA Recall 23V-205)?

On 35 early-build 2023 Tesla Semi tractors, the Bendix-supplied electronic parking brake valve module (PVM) may fail to transition to the park position when the driver presses the parking brake button, due to excessive internal air leakage in the supplier's spec. If the service b… Repairs typically run $0-$0. Severity: high.

What is the 2024 Tesla Semi Lithium-ion battery thermal runaway after crash — 50,000 gallons of water needed?

On Aug 19, 2024 a 2024 Tesla Semi driven by a Tesla employee left I-80 near Emigrant Gap, CA, struck a tree, and the ~900 kWh pack went into thermal runaway. Battery temperatures hit ~1,000 F, fire/toxic smoke closed both directions of I-80 for 14-15 hours, and CAL FIRE used roug… Repairs typically run $250,000-$500,000. Severity: high.

What is the 2023-2026 Tesla Semi Heavy-load range collapse — 500-mile rating only on light freight?

Tesla advertises 500 miles at 82,000 lb GCW, but real fleet deployment tells a different story. PepsiCo runs Frito-Lay (chips, ~light) Semis on ~425-mile routes, but limits Pepsi soda runs (heavy liquid loads) to ~100 miles before recharging. NACFE 'Run on Less' (Sept 2023) recor… Repairs typically run $0-$0. Severity: medium.